Sunday, May 22, 2011

Question 1:
A player purposely positions his golf bag so as to block the sunlight from where he is teeing his ball. If he then makes a stroke at his ball has he breached any Rule?

Answer 1:
Yes.

Note: As the player was not in contact with the golf bag, he accepted protection from the elements in breach of Rule 14-2.


Question 2:
A player holds an umbrella, as shelter from wind and rain, with one hand and putts with the other. Is this permissible?

Answer 2:
Yes.

Note: Unlike Question 1 the player has direct contact with the umbrella. Rule 14-2 does not prohibit a player from protecting himself from the elements.

Part of Rule 14-2 states;

In making a stroke, a player must not:
a. Accept physical assistance or protection from the elements.