Question 1:
A player makes a stroke at their ball lying in a bunker. It bounces on the grass bank and drops back into the same bunker. May they smooth the sand in the area where the stroke was made from before making their next stroke?
Question 2:
Would there be a different answer to the above question if the ball had not touched any part of the course before landing in the same bunker?
Answer 1:
Yes, the player may smooth the sand. Decision 13-4/36.
Answer 2:
The answer is the same. The player may smooth the sand.
Part of Exception 2 to Rule 13-4 states:
After making the stroke, if the ball is still in the hazard or has been lifted from the hazard and may be dropped or placed in the hazard, the player may smooth sand or soil in the hazard, provided nothing is done to breach Rule 13-2 with respect to his next stroke.
Part of Rule 13-2 states;
A player must not improve or allow to be improved:
the position or lie of his ball,
the area of his intended stance or swing,
his line of play or a reasonable extension of that line beyond the hole, or
the area in which he is to drop or place a ball.
In the two photos above the ball was not on the line of play so the smoothing of the sand from the previous stroke did not breach any Rule.
Question 3:
A player makes a stroke at their ball lying in a bunker and it comes to rest out of bounds. May they smooth the area where the stroke was made from before dropping a ball under Rule 27-1b?
Answer 3:
Yes. Decision 13-4/37
The continuation of Exception 2 to Rule 13-4 (above) states;
If the ball is outside the hazard after the stroke, the player may smooth sand or soil in the hazard without restriction.