In stroke play, a player thinks that their yellow ball is in a bunker, which is partly covered with leaves.
Question 1:
In searching for their ball may the player probe the leaves with ...
a) ... their hands?
b) ... their club?
c) ... a rake?
Question 2:
After finding a ball in the leaves in the bunker, if the player cannot identify it as theirs, may they mark its position and lift it?
Answer 1:
a), b) and c) Yes. Rule 12-1.
Part of Rule 12-1 states;
In a hazard, if a ball is believed to be covered by loose impediments or sand, the player may remove by probing or raking with a club or otherwise, as many loose impediments or as much sand as will enable him to see a part of the ball. If an excess is removed, there is no penalty and the ball must be re-covered so that only a part of the ball is visible. If the ball is moved during the removal, there is no penalty; the ball must be replaced and, if necessary, re-covered.
Answer 2:
Yes, providing they announce that they intend to mark and lift their ball to a fellow-competitor and give them an opportunity to witness the lifting and replacement. Rule 12-2.
Question 3:
Having found their yellow ball surrounded by leaves in a bunker may the player touch those leaves ...
a) ... in taking their address?
b) ... in taking a practice swing?
c) ... on the backswing of their stroke?
Answer 3:
a), b) and c) No. Rule 13-4c.
Note: Rule 13-4c states that before making a stroke at a ball that is in a hazard the player must not touch or move a loose impediment lying in or touching the hazard. A stroke only commences with the forward movement of the club made with the intention of striking at and moving the ball.