Monday, May 7, 2012
How Many Strokes?
Question 13:
Before walking onto the Par-3 4th tee Marion asks Norah, her fellow competitor, what club she is going to use. Norah replies that she is going to use a 6-iron. Thinking that Norah can hit the ball further than she can Marion decides to use her 5-iron. She overshoots the green and her ball settles under a bush. There is no way she can get a club to her ball right-handed, so she stabs at it with a left-handed stance, using the back of the club-head to move her ball forward. Having cleared the bush she then pitches onto the putting green and takes two putts to finish the hole. What is Marion's score for the hole?
(The answer is below)
__________
19th Hole Titbit - Do You Know?
That you may ground your club on a bridge situated inside a water hazard. Decision 13-4/30.
__________
Answer 13:
Marion scores 7 for the hole.
1 & 2 - Two penalty strokes for asking her fellow competitor for advice on what club she was going to use on the hole (Rule 8-1b).
3 - Tee shot.
4 - Left-handed stroke from under bush.
Note: A ball may be struck with any part of the club-head (Rule 14-1).
5 - Pitch onto green.
6 & 7 - Putts to hole out.
Note: Norah is also penalised two strokes for giving advice on the club that she used. She should have refused to answer the question (Rule 8-1a).
Subscribe to:
Posts (Atom)