Question 1:
If a player's ball comes to rest on an old hole plug may they take relief from it?
Question 2:
If, on a player's line of putt, there is an old hole plug that they consider is not level may they attempt to raise or lower the edges before making their putt...
a) ... if their ball is on the putting surface?
b)... if their ball is off the putting surface?
Answer 1:
No, there is no relief from an old hole plug.
Answer 2:
a) Yes.
b) Yes.
Part of Rule 16-1c states:
The player may repair an old hole plug or damage to the putting green caused by the impact of a ball, whether or not the player's ball lies on the putting green.
Question 3:
If a player's ball comes to rest behind an old hole that is on their line of putt may they take relief from it?
Answer 3:
No, there is no relief from an old hole plug on the line of putt.
Question 4:
May a player deliberately repair a spike mark that is on their line of putt if it is on an old hole plug?
Answer 4:
No.
However, Decision 16-1a/16.5 rules that if a player steps on the hole plug to make it level with the surface of the putting green and in so doing they press down a spike mark within the hole plug, they do not incur a penalty. Rule 16-1a permits touching the line of putt in repairing old hole plugs.
No comments:
Post a Comment