A player finds a ball plugged in a bunker but cannot see their identification mark on the part of the ball that is visible to them.
Question 1:
Is the player permitted to lift the ball to identify whether it is their ball, or not?
Question 2:
If they play the ball from the bunker and then find that it is not their ball do they incur a penalty?
Answer 1:
Yes. But they must follow the procedure detailed in Rule 12-2. (Position of ball must be marked befor rotating ball.)
Answer 2:
Yes. Two strokes in stroke play or loss of hole in match play, Rule 15-3b.
The players ball lies outside the bunker but embedded in grass next to it.
Question 3:
If the ball is embedded may the player take relief without penalty?
Question 4:
a) May the player take their stance in the bunker to make their stroke?
b) May the player ground their club lightly in the bunker before making their stroke?
Answer 3:
No.
Answer 4:
a) Yes.
b) Yes. Decision 13-4/1.
No comments:
Post a Comment