Tuesday, December 20, 2011

Loose impediments in hazards

Question 1:
As a player approaches their ball lying in a bunker they accidentally kick a pine cone into the bunker. May they remove the pine cone, which was not there when their ball came to rest?

Question 2:
A player accidentally kicks a pine cone into a bunker causing their ball that is lying in the bunker to move. What is the ruling?

Answer 1:
No, the pine cone is a loose impediment, which may not be removed when it lies in the same bunker as the player's ball. Decision 13-4/14.

Answer 2:
The player incurs a penalty of one stroke for causing their ball to move and the ball must be replaced. Decision 18-2a/5.

Question 3:
A player has taken their shoes and socks off so that they can play their ball, which is lying in shallow water.
a) Are they penalised if they touch reeds that are growing close to their ball on a practice swing?
b) Are they penalised if they touch reeds that are growing close to their ball on the backswing of their stroke?
c) Are they penalised if they touch dead reeds that are floating close to their ball on the backswing of their stroke?

Answer 3:
a) No, providing they do not improve their area of intended stance or swing. Decision 13-4/4.
b) No, providing they do not improve their area of intended stance or swing. Note to Rule 13-4.
c) Yes. A player incurs a penalty of two strokes in stroke play, or loss of hole in match play, for touching a loose impediment that is lying in the hazard. Rule 13-4c.

Note to Rule 13-4. Ball in Hazard; Prohibited Actions:

Note: At any time, including at address or in the backward movement for the stroke, the player may touch, with a club or otherwise, any obstruction, any construction declared by the Committee to be an integral part of the course or any grass, bush, tree or other growing thing.

Wednesday, November 16, 2011

Ball in Branch of Tree

Question 1: A player's ball comes to rest against a broken branch lying on the ground, which is still attached to the trunk of a tree. May the player move the branch to the side or take relief without penalty?

Answer: No. The branch is still attached to the tree, a 'growing thing', and is therefore not a loose impediment. The player must play their ball as it lies, without moving the branch, or they may deem their ball unplayable and take relief under penalty of one stroke.


Question 2: In stroke play, a player identifies their ball lodged in a tree, out of their reach, so they shake the tree and the ball drops to the ground. What is the ruling?

A) They may play the ball as it lies without penalty.
B) They may deem that their ball was unplayable in the tree, incurring one penalty stroke, and may then play it from where it lands.
C) They may deem that their ball was unplayable in the tree, incurring one penalty stroke, and may then drop it under one of the three options available under Rule 28.
D) They incur one penalty stroke for causing their ball to move and have to replace the ball back in the tree where it was at rest.

Answer: D) They incur one penalty stroke for causing their ball to move and have to replace the ball back in the tree where it was at rest.

The player should have deemed their ball unplayable before shaking the tree to dislodge it. As they did not, they incur a penalty of one stroke, under Rule 18-2a, for causing their ball in play to move. They should then replace the ball back in the tree, where it was before they moved it. If they do not do so and play the ball from where it dropped to, they incur a total penalty of two strokes. See the penalty statement under Rule 18, which states that when a player who is required to replace a ball fails to do so they incur the general penalty for breach of Rule 18, but there is no additional penalty under this Rule.

Question 3: Assuming that the player deemed their ball unplayable before they shook the tree to dislodge it, and then take the option of dropping within two club-lengths of the spot where the ball lay, but not nearer the hole, where may it be dropped?

Answer: Within two club-lengths of the spot on the ground directly under where the ball was at rest in the tree.

Monday, October 24, 2011

Balls in Leaves in Bunker

In stroke play, a player thinks that their yellow ball is in a bunker, which is partly covered with leaves.

Question 1:
In searching for their ball may the player probe the leaves with ...
a) ... their hands?
b) ... their club?
c) ... a rake?

Question 2:
After finding a ball in the leaves in the bunker, if the player cannot identify it as theirs, may they mark its position and lift it?

Answer 1:
a), b) and c) Yes. Rule 12-1.

Part of Rule 12-1 states;

In a hazard, if a ball is believed to be covered by loose impediments or sand, the player may remove by probing or raking with a club or otherwise, as many loose impediments or as much sand as will enable him to see a part of the ball. If an excess is removed, there is no penalty and the ball must be re-covered so that only a part of the ball is visible. If the ball is moved during the removal, there is no penalty; the ball must be replaced and, if necessary, re-covered.

Answer 2:
Yes, providing they announce that they intend to mark and lift their ball to a fellow-competitor and give them an opportunity to witness the lifting and replacement. Rule 12-2.


Question 3:
Having found their yellow ball surrounded by leaves in a bunker may the player touch those leaves ...
a) ... in taking their address?
b) ... in taking a practice swing?
c) ... on the backswing of their stroke?

Answer 3:
a), b) and c) No. Rule 13-4c.

Note: Rule 13-4c states that before making a stroke at a ball that is in a hazard the player must not touch or move a loose impediment lying in or touching the hazard. A stroke only commences with the forward movement of the club made with the intention of striking at and moving the ball.

Friday, September 23, 2011

Balls & Bunkers

A player finds a ball plugged in a bunker but cannot see their identification mark on the part of the ball that is visible to them.

Question 1:
Is the player permitted to lift the ball to identify whether it is their ball, or not?

Question 2:
If they play the ball from the bunker and then find that it is not their ball do they incur a penalty?

Answer 1:
Yes. But they must follow the procedure detailed in Rule 12-2. (Position of ball must be marked befor rotating ball.)

Answer 2:
Yes. Two strokes in stroke play or loss of hole in match play, Rule 15-3b.


The players ball lies outside the bunker but embedded in grass next to it.

Question 3:
If the ball is embedded may the player take relief without penalty?

Question 4:
a) May the player take their stance in the bunker to make their stroke?
b) May the player ground their club lightly in the bunker before making their stroke?

Answer 3:
No.

Answer 4:
a) Yes.
b) Yes. Decision 13-4/1.

Sunday, August 7, 2011

Teeing the Ball

Question 1:
On the teeing ground a player piles up some loose soil to tee their ball on. Is this permitted by the Rules?

Question 2:
On the teeing ground a player gouges up a bit of turf with their club to tee their ball on. Is this permitted by the Rules?

Answer 1:
Yes.

Answer 2:
Yes. In fact, the English Pro golfer, Laura Davis, regularly uses this method of teeing her ball.

Part of Rule 11-1 states;

For the purposes of this Rule, the surface of the ground includes an irregularity of surface (whether or not created by the player) and sand or other natural substance (whether or not placed by the player).

Note: In the interests of maintaining course teeing areas in good condition it is strongly recommended that players do not regularly use the above methods for teeing their balls.

__________



Question 3:
A player tees his ball on the plastic top of a container and then makes his stroke. What is the penalty, if any?

Answer 3:
The player is disqualified. The object is not a conforming tee because it is not a device designed to raise the ball off the ground.

Part of Rule 11-1 states;

If a player makes a stroke at a ball on a non-conforming tee, or at a ball teed in a manner not permitted by this Rule, he is disqualified.

Monday, July 11, 2011

Interference by animals

Question 1:
If a player's ball comes to rest in a dangerous situation through the green, next to an alligator for example, how should they proceed?
a) Wait until the dangerous situation has passed.
b) Wait for up to five minutes and if the dangerous situation has not passed return to where the last stroke was played from under penalty of stroke and distance.
c) Without penalty, drop a ball within one club-length of the nearest spot that is not dangerous to the player and is not nearer the hole.
d) This situation is not envisaged by the Rules, so there is no relief. The player must continue play or abort their round.

Answer 1:
c) Without penalty, drop a ball within one club-length of the nearest spot that is not dangerous to the player and is not nearer the hole. Decision 1-4/10.


Question 2:

A player's ball lies against a molehill. May they take relief without penalty?

Answer 2:
Yes.

Molehills are casts made by a burrowing animal. Accordingly, the player may take relief from them, without penalty, Rule 25-1b.

Monday, June 20, 2011

Playing from the Bunker

Question 1:
A player makes a stroke at their ball lying in a bunker. It bounces on the grass bank and drops back into the same bunker. May they smooth the sand in the area where the stroke was made from before making their next stroke?

Question 2:
Would there be a different answer to the above question if the ball had not touched any part of the course before landing in the same bunker?

Answer 1:
Yes, the player may smooth the sand. Decision 13-4/36.

Answer 2:
The answer is the same. The player may smooth the sand.

Part of Exception 2 to Rule 13-4 states:

After making the stroke, if the ball is still in the hazard or has been lifted from the hazard and may be dropped or placed in the hazard, the player may smooth sand or soil in the hazard, provided nothing is done to breach Rule 13-2 with respect to his next stroke.

Part of Rule 13-2 states;

A player must not improve or allow to be improved:

the position or lie of his ball,
the area of his intended stance or swing,
his line of play or a reasonable extension of that line beyond the hole, or
the area in which he is to drop or place a ball.

In the two photos above the ball was not on the line of play so the smoothing of the sand from the previous stroke did not breach any Rule.

Question 3:

A player makes a stroke at their ball lying in a bunker and it comes to rest out of bounds. May they smooth the area where the stroke was made from before dropping a ball under Rule 27-1b?

Answer 3:
Yes. Decision 13-4/37

The continuation of Exception 2 to Rule 13-4 (above) states;

If the ball is outside the hazard after the stroke, the player may smooth sand or soil in the hazard without restriction.

Sunday, May 22, 2011

Question 1:
A player purposely positions his golf bag so as to block the sunlight from where he is teeing his ball. If he then makes a stroke at his ball has he breached any Rule?

Answer 1:
Yes.

Note: As the player was not in contact with the golf bag, he accepted protection from the elements in breach of Rule 14-2.


Question 2:
A player holds an umbrella, as shelter from wind and rain, with one hand and putts with the other. Is this permissible?

Answer 2:
Yes.

Note: Unlike Question 1 the player has direct contact with the umbrella. Rule 14-2 does not prohibit a player from protecting himself from the elements.

Part of Rule 14-2 states;

In making a stroke, a player must not:
a. Accept physical assistance or protection from the elements.

Monday, April 18, 2011

Old Hole Plugs

Question 1:
If a player's ball comes to rest on an old hole plug may they take relief from it?

Question 2:
If, on a player's line of putt, there is an old hole plug that they consider is not level may they attempt to raise or lower the edges before making their putt...
a) ... if their ball is on the putting surface?
b)... if their ball is off the putting surface?

Answer 1:
No, there is no relief from an old hole plug.

Answer 2:
a) Yes.
b) Yes.

Part of Rule 16-1c states:


The player may repair an old hole plug or damage to the putting green caused by the impact of a ball, whether or not the player's ball lies on the putting green.


Question 3:
If a player's ball comes to rest behind an old hole that is on their line of putt may they take relief from it?

Answer 3:
No, there is no relief from an old hole plug on the line of putt.



Question 4:
May a player deliberately repair a spike mark that is on their line of putt if it is on an old hole plug?

Answer 4:
No.


However, Decision 16-1a/16.5 rules that if a player steps on the hole plug to make it level with the surface of the putting green and in so doing they press down a spike mark within the hole plug, they do not incur a penalty. Rule 16-1a permits touching the line of putt in repairing old hole plugs.

Wednesday, March 16, 2011

Artificial Devices

Question 1:
Is a player permitted to use the following equipment on a golf course?
a) Standard binoculars.
b) Compass.
c) Booklet containing illustrations of the holes and providing accurate distances between various identifiable points.
d) Training or swing aid.
e) Hand warmer.

Answer 1:
a) Yes, Decision 14-3/3.
b) No, Decision 14-3/4.
c) Yes, Decision 14-3/5.
d) No, Decision 14-3/10.
e) Yes, Decision 14-3/13. Although a hand warmer is an artificial device, its use to warm the hands is traditionally accepted and a player is not in breach of Rule 14-3 if he uses equipment in a traditionally accepted manner.

Note: A player may not use a hand warmer to heat a ball, Decision 14-3/13.5.


Question 2:

What are the circumstances under which a player is permitted to use a distance measuring device on the course?

Answer 2:
If the Committee has established a Local Rule allowing players to use devices that measure or gauge distance only.

Sunday, February 13, 2011

Marking Your Ball

Question 1:
May a player use the toe of their putter to mark the position of their ball on the putting green?

Question 2:
May a player use a loose impediment, such as a twig or a leaf that they found lying on the green, to mark the position of their ball on the putting green?

Question 3:
May a player use a blemish on the surface of the putting green to mark the position of their ball?

__________


Answer 1:
Yes (but it is not recommended)
Answer 2:
Yes, (but it is not recommended)
Answer 3:
No, a physical mark must be used.

The Note to Rule 20-1 states;
The position of a ball to be lifted should be marked by placing a ball-marker, a small coin or other similar object immediately behind the ball.

However, the word "should" indicates that this is a recommendation of best practice and a player is not penalised if they use an object that is not similar to a ball-marker or small coin to mark the position of their ball.

Decision 20-1/16 includes these examples of methods of marking the position of a ball that are not recommended, but are permissible;

placing the toe of a club at the side of, or behind, the ball;


using a tee;


using a loose impediment


Under Rule 20-1 it is necessary to physically mark the position of the ball, so reference to a blemish on the ground does not constitute marking the position of a ball.

Wednesday, January 19, 2011

Rules Dropped Ball Hits Object

Question 1:

A player drops their ball and it touches their glove, which they are using to mark the outside limit of where they are permitted to drop;
a) Is the ball in play if it touches the glove before striking the course?
b) Is the ball in play if it rolls into the glove after striking the course?
c) Does the player incur a penalty of one stroke because the ball was deflected by their equipment?
d) Must the ball be re-dropped?
e) If the ball touches the glove again when it is re-dropped may the player place the ball where it first struck the course?

Answer 1:
a) No.
b) No.
c) No penalty is incurred.
d) Yes.
e) No.

Note: Part of Rule 20-2a states;

If the ball when dropped touches any person or the equipment of any player before or after it strikes a part of the course and before it comes to rest, the ball must be re-dropped, without penalty. There is no limit to the number of times a ball must be re-dropped in these circumstances.

Decision 20-2a/7 confirms;

A glove is not a "small object" within the meaning of that term in the Definition of "Equipment." Therefore, it is equipment and the ball must be re-dropped.

__________




Question 2:
A player drops their ball and it touches a tee peg, which they are using to mark the outside limit of where they are permitted to drop;
a) Is the ball in play if it touches the tee peg before striking the course?
b) Is the ball in play if it rolls into the tee peg after striking the course?

Answer 2:
a) Yes.
b) Yes.

Note: A tee peg is not part of a player's equipment and therefore a dropped ball is in play even if it touches a tee peg that is being used as a marker before it comes to rest.

Definition of Equipment;

Anything used, worn or carried by the player or anything carried for the player by his partner or either of their caddies, except any ball he has played at the hole being played and any small object, such as a coin or a tee, when used to mark the position of a ball or the extent of an area in which a ball is to be dropped.

Monday, January 10, 2011

Miscellaneous re the Flagstick

Question 1:

A player's ball is in motion after a putt. A fellow competitor thinks that the ball might hit the flagstick, which has been removed, and lifts it. What is the ruling?

a) There is no penalty.
b) The fellow competitor incurs a penalty of one stroke.
c) The fellow competitor incurs a penalty of two strokes.
d) The player putting incurs a penalty of two strokes.

Question 2:

What is the penalty if the ball does strike the removed flagstick lying on the putting green?

Answer1:
a) There is no penalty.

Answer 2:
The player incurs a penalty of two strokes in stroke play or loss of hole in match play, under Rule 17-3a.

Since January 2008, a player is allowed to move the flagstick on the ground if they think that a ball may strike it. Part of Rule 24-1 states;

When a ball is in motion, an obstruction that might influence the movement of the ball, other than equipment of any player or the flagstick when attended, removed or held up, must not be moved.
__________



Question 3:
A player has asked for the position of the hole to be marked. The person at the hole does not want to waste time retrieving the flagstick and uses the grip end of their putter in the hole. Is this permissible?

Answer 3:
Yes. Decision 17-3/6.

Note: A club that is used to mark the position of the hole must be treated as a flagstick for the purposes of applying the Rules.